| Home | | Forensic Pharmacy |

Chapter: Forensic Pharmacy : The All India Council for Technical Education Act, 1987 (AICTE Act, 1987)

The Council of AICTE is a body corporate with perpetual succession and common seal and shall by the said name sue and be sued.


The Council of AICTE is a body corporate with perpetual succession and common seal and shall by the said name sue and be sued. The head office of the Council is at Delhi. The Council is represented by 51 members of which 3 are AICTE officials, 15 Ex-officio, 31 nominated members and 2 members of parliament (elected)

1. Chairman  - Appointed by the Central Government

2. Vice-Chairman - Appointed by the Central Government

3. Member-Secretary - Appointed by the Central Government

4. Ex-officio members (15 members)

(i) Secretary of Education Govt. of India

(ii) Educational Adviser (General) Govt. of India

(iii) Chairman of Four Regional Committees of AICTE

(v) Chairman, University Grants Commission

(iv) Chairman of Five All India Boards of AICTE

(vi) Director, Institute of Applied Manpower Research

(vii) Director-General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research

(viii) Director-General, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research

5. Members appointed by the Central Government (Total 31 )

·           One representative of Ministry of Finance, Government of India

·           One representative of Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India

·           Four members appointed by rotation to represent Ministries and departments of Central Government other than Finance and Science and Technology.

·           Four members representing organizations in industry and commerce.

·           Eight members appointed by rotation in alphabetical order to represent States and Union Territories.

·           Seven members to represent Central Advisory Board of Education; Association of Indian Universities; Indian Society for Technical Education; Council of Indian Institutes of Technology; Pharmacy Council of India; Council of Architecture; and National Productivity Council.

·           Four members to represent professional bodies in technical and management education and maximum two members appointed to represent other areas.

6. Two Members of Parliament of whom one shall be elected by the House of the People and one by the Council of states.

The term of the office other than ex-officio members is for five years.

There is a provision for filling up the vacancies and co-option of persons for particular purposes. The Council usually meets twice a year. The Council takes decisions pertaining to development oftechnical education; allocation and disbursement of funds; surveys for collection of technical data; formulation of schemes for technical education of women, handicapped and weaker sections of society; promotion of research and development; effective linkages with industry; technical teachers training and continuing education for technical personnel; norms and standards for courses, staff, physical infrastructure etc; approval for starting new technical institutions; and norms for granting autonomy to technical institutions. The Council sets up National Board of Accreditation (NBA) for assessment and accreditation of technical institutions. The Council arranges for inspections of institutions for their approval, increase in intake, starting of new institutions and change of location of institution.

Contact Us, Privacy Policy, Terms and Compliant, DMCA Policy and Compliant

TH 2019 - 2024; Developed by Therithal info.